8566 / 50000


I just realized something: on Day 1 I wrote that I was working on Tequila Mockingbird, but… it turns out that I haven’t been working on this particular novel at all these last few days. No. I’ve been working on SOCIAL, the Divergent-esque saga that I’ve been trying to put together for the last year or so (perhaps even longer than that). This is the story that I sat in a Starbucks in Middletown, New Jersey and started working out with my best friend (and author himself!). Granted, I had the idea down before I’d gotten together in that Starbucks with him, but he helped me get through a bulk of the “problem spots” that I’d been powering through. Or, at least, trying to power through. Sometimes it’s just extraordinarily difficult for me to write, well, anything.

I’ve come to find out that a lot of why I really enjoy writing is that I have control over the lives of my characters. I may not have control over my own life, so I can sublimate that into all of the characters that I’ve thrown down on paper. And I would really like to say that I’ve never done anything awful to any of my characters, but… I’d be a liar if I said that *angel face*

Five down, twenty-six to go. Let’s get this done.

Leave a Reply

