1423 / 50000

I’m just barely into the first chapter of the saga known as Tequila Mockingbird. Our protagonist is on her way home from boarding school out in California; I took a little poetic liberty and put a school that’s actually outside of San Francisco outside of Los Angeles because it made more sense and my research wasn’t as good as it often is (or, rather, my research is lazier than it usually is), but aside from that everything is carefully thought out and while I’m a little behind right now I am well on my way to 50K.

And with that, I would like to pull out my little soapbox and mention a little something about The Office of Letters and Light. These are the guys who do these 50,000 words in 30 days epic tales of writing insanity. And they are awesome for it. But I don’t do NaNoWriMo or Camp NaNoWriMo for the glory of winning. Yes, it’s awesome to win, but that isn’t why I do it. It’s because it gives me a structure, it forces me to write every day, a certain number of words, in order to fill in a little graph that says “Hey! I’m better than the computer! Woohoo!” But it forces me to write every day, to keep it going regardless of how down on myself I really truly feel.

It’s the first day, and while I’m already behind the pace I’m confident that I’ll continue, and that with any luck I may even finish this bad boy off before the end of the summer. At least the first draft, anyway!

Leave a Reply

