Yes, it goes on, and on, and on, and on, and on… my friends.

See, I had a plan. I had a glorious plan to attend the April session of Camp NaNoWriMo. I had a wonderful plan, and it was going to be brilliant and beautiful. I was going to not only tear through Tequila Mockingbird but I was going to finish the first draft. I was going to straight-up get this whole kit-and-caboodle finished and done with and get to either editing or creating more of a really good thing, but ALAS. School, the last month of the last semester decided that it wanted to intervene on my life and my goals and came in fast, hot, and hard, and completely took me out. I think I got roughly 20 pages done, though I’m sure that if I sat down and worked at it I could get it done in a few days a few weeks, but…

…as of 1:39 PM on April 28, 2016, I am officially done with my student obligations. Graduation from the Univ. of Michigan – Dearborn is May 1st at the Crisler Center in Ann Arbor (aka The Mothership), and I will be attending. I’m going to do a little dance, a little jig, have a drink or two, and be all done with school; officially a graduate of the Journalism and Screen Studies program.

I’m proud of this accomplishment, but I’m not ready to sit back on my laurels. Oh hell no. No, see, I want more. I don’t just want to be in the journalism field somewhere – preferably on the radio, to be honest with you – but I also want to be a writer. I want to be able to say “so I published a book” and be 100% right about it. I want a paper copy of a story that I’ve pieced together with my over-active imagine and everything else that may be sitting around in my addled girl brain right now.

I’m ready, Tequila Mockingbird. I’m ready to sit back and make you a real, honest to god thing. And I’m ready for the whole damn world to see your brilliance.

Leave a Reply

