A little while back, I got an idea for a story. Brace yourselves, right? I never get any ideas, so this was kind of interesting. At first, I thought hey! I should just sit down and write. Don’t think about it; don’t try putting anything but prose down on paper. Seriously. No outlining, no character creation, don’t even look for pictures for your main characters. But then, I got one sentence into the story. One. And I needed to do some research. So research I did. I looked up the boarding school that my protagonist would be attending, along with the school her sister would be attending, and when her brother would be home, et cetera. I even found flight numbers so I wouldn’t just be making it up (because I am nothing if not thorough)!

Because we have to know how our protagonist gets from Point A to Point B, right?
Because we have to know how our protagonist gets from Point A to Point B, right?

Yoobi notebook, found at Target, Allen Park, Michigan
Yoobi notebook, found at Target, Allen Park, Michigan
And then I thought: write this long hand, or type it up. Why, write it long hand, of course! You can bring a notebook with you anywhere, but a laptop doesn’t travel as well. So I went and got myself a little notebook and found some of my favorite cheap-ass pens, and I started to write. Of course, I pulled a Lisa Simpson and fucking procrastinated myself into writer’s block, but I never gave up. Sure, I put it aside for a little while, but I never stopped thinking about it. Every day I’d come up with something new and a little interesting to inject into the story, and I would make a note here or there. The notes turned into a Scrivener file, named with the title of the story: Tequila Mockingbird. Uh oh. This is no longer a simple project. This is no longer going to be a simple “sit down and write and screw the details” type of a story, but this is turning into a full-on project.

Today's Swag: Five-Star Flex (3 subject), Pentel RSVP pens (blue ink, fine point), and some Post-It flags
Today’s Swag: Five-Star Flex (3 subject), Pentel RSVP pens (blue ink, fine point), and some Post-It flags, Staples, Dearborn, Michigan
So I did what any self-respecting writer would do: I stepped up my game. I made my way to Staples and picked up something to hold this monster in. After all, all of the digital files will be in Scrivener, but I am going to write this all out. I even went to Kinko’s and printed out character sheets so I could suss out at least three characters, though I’m not sure if any other characters are going to need any real sussing. I printed them, even punched holes in them, ready to be added to the Flex® whenever they’re ready. I mean, I did start to write it all out, the least I could do is see that through. So I got myself a Flex® notebook and some pens and even a pad just in case, and I took to the Henry Ford Centennial Library here in Dearborn, found myself a table, stretched myself out, and started to write.

So… we’ll see how this works. We’ll see if this is the one that takes, or if it’ll be just another false start. Either way, I’m not going to stop. I’m never going to stop.

One thought on “Tequila Mockingbird: Rising from the ashes!

Leave a Reply

