The penis mightier!
The penis mightier!
As usual, I was a participant in this year’s National Novel Writing Month. Now, this is on top of taking 18 credits and working 22 hours a week*, but hey. Somehow I made it work. However, I took this whole insanity a step further and decided to, well… write out the whole thing by hand.

And write I did.

Roughly 270 words per page, I filled one notebook entirely, and nearly filled a second with this story. I had to make two trips to Staples — one for 0.9mm lead, and one for that second notebook — and went to a number of write-ins around the region, if only for the camaraderie that comes with being a member of NaNoWriMotown. There were nights when I just didn’t want to write, and there were nights where the story simply wrote itself and I was just the messenger, and there were certainly days and nights where I looked at my bed and decided that writing was the better option, and now that it’s the first of December I’m paying for it (because today I just did not want to get out of bed, for reasons both known and unknown).

But 50,043 words later I find myself watching the HOORAY YOU WON!! video on the NaNo site, and I honestly could not be happier.

But… what next? I mean, the story isn’t even finished. Do I just keep going? Do I take a few days off to regroup, to gather my thoughts and feelings before I keep going? Do I wait until the end of the semester so I can get some decent grades and graduate in April? The choice is, well, it’s kind of difficult for me right now.

A very good friend of mine emailed me this blog post this morning, written by a friend of his, to describe what should essentially happen after the month of November ends. And I, for one, may take him up on this. I’m not kidding, not even a little bit. I’ve always wanted to have a story published somewhere, and what better way to do it than to simply sit my ass down, adhere to an actual plan. And this seems like a pretty good plan. I’m just not sure if it’s going to happen in December.

*this changed on November 20, when I decided to leave my job at The Salvation Army and start the search for something new

Leave a Reply

