Lucky thirteen. A quarter of the way through the year. Can you believe that? I’m already a quarter of the way through a year of writing… terribly. See, part of me wanted to put “dangerously” there instead of terribly, but the fact of the matter is? I’m not really writing as well as I had hoped. Oh, sure. Writing is something you need to practice in order to be good at. Hell, I’ve even said that from time to time. It’s true, that a lot of my time spent “writing” is writing roleplay (heretofore known as RP), and that to write RP is vastly different than writing straight-up fiction. And it’s also true that my free time, or really just my time in general, is now being taken up by work, which is both a blessing and a curse. But, when I do write, I can feel that the quality of the writing just… eh, it just isn’t what it used to be.

Now, this IS NOT going to deter me from writing by any sense of the word. But there certainly are those days where I feel like there’s really no point in me even trying because when it gets time to reading through this whole blessed story I’m going to throw out half of what I’ve written for something better.

I haven’t given up on Social. I didn’t win Camp NaNoWriMo this July, though I did put in a valiant effort. And, who knows. Maybe in November I’ll have better luck with it, but I’m not holding my breath on that one. I’m going to be devoting a lot of time to school, and a lot of energy to my job, in order to keep some kind of income flowing.

Leave a Reply

