6529 / 50000 words

Well, I’ve been writing for eight days, and haven’t accomplished nearly what I was anticipating to accomplish. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’ve accomplished… a little, but it just isn’t enough. A couple of my cabin mates have already lowered their own personal word count for the month, just because 50,000 doesn’t seem like a very surmountable goal. I’m not doing the same, not just yet.

I’ve hammered out a small part of the back story, and really should continue to do more, but I honestly have no idea how I can do that. Every time I open that document (YES, OKAY, I’M CHEATING MY OWN SYSTEM) I stare at the blinking cursor, as if I’m willing the words to simply spill from my mind out onto the screen, without my fingers being involved at all. Of course, we all know that’s not how this goes, but I think we all, at some point in our writing, wish it were the case.

I did, however, open said Word document and wrote a bunch while I was in class. I KNOW. I know, I should be paying attention in class, but I just couldn’t. All I could do was think about my story, so I did the only thing I could do about it. I wrote, and I wrote, and I wrote.

And you know what? Tomorrow, I’ll write some more.

Leave a Reply

