Lately I’ve been thumbing through the Gotham Writers’ Workshop book on how to write fiction. I’d always picked this particular book up and felt that it should be more helpful than not. So I’ve started at the beginning, and continued onward through the practices in the book. So far I’ve only gotten through the first two, but it does show that I’ve been trying!

Today I got to the part about the writers’ craft. Anyone can write; the Internet is full of examples of people who just want to write to get the ideas out of their heads, but 99% of those works have very little in terms of style, or form, or even proper grammar.

According to the GWW teacher Brian Dillon, there are five aspects of craft:

  1. Character
  2. Plot
  3. Dialogue
  4. Point of view
  5. Theme

When combining these five elements, focusing not on one in particular but all five as one, a story becomes more than a story; it becomes a novel. And with November coming up, I think a little focus on the elements are going to help me greatly.

Leave a Reply

